When referring to Jet Professional reports, what is the difference between "Design Mode" and "Report Mode".
When a report has been run (using either the Report button or the Refresh button) and the Report button is highlighted, the report is referred to as being in "Report Mode".
Changes should not be made to a report while it is in Report Mode, as those changes will be lost as soon as the report is run.
When a report is being designed and the Design button is highlighted...
the report is referred to as being in "Design Mode".
Only licensed Designers have direct access to Design mode (that is, a reports that has been saved in Report Mode can only be switched to Design Mode by a licensed Designer).
Design Mode is used to create and make changes. When the report is then run (and placed in to Report Mode), the results of those changes will be reflected.
While in Design Mode, Jet function results are optimized for speed and are not guaranteed to accurately reflect the results of all queries. Use Report Mode to ensure you are viewing accurate data.