Sign Up for Training |
Jet Express Support |
Jet Reports Company Site
Jet 365 Financials
Jet Professional
Jet Enterprise
Downloads
Community
Submit a Request
Give Feedback

General Usability Improvements in JDM 17.5


In addition to the redesign of the interface the new release contains a myriad of smaller improvements to improve the usability of the Jet Data Manager:


The Automate wizards introduced in Jet Data Manager 17.1 have been tweaked a bit. One-level lists are now proper lists instead of trees which makes multi-selection possible. You will now get a message if the wizard has nothing to show instead of an empty wizard. And lastly the wildcards you can use in the filter are explained in a tip when your mouse is over the filter box.


The Find window has an improved layout and now supports the same wildcards as the filter function in the Automate wizards.


We have streamlined the delete confirmations to give them a consistent look and behavior. On routine confirmations (such as deleting a field or table) the default action is to delete the object. On objects where the impact is bigger (data warehouses, OLAP cubes, etc.) the default action is not to delete the object.


We have improved the warning message you see when you set a timeout setting to 0 on a data source so it is easier to understand. Jet Data Manager shows the warning message since 0 equals infinity in this context which can cause issues if the data source is not responding.


Previous versions of Jet Data Manager would show an unnecessary warning message when you set up Related Records or Table Inserts. Jet Data Manager 17.5 includes a check to make sure the warning message is only shown when appropriate.


You can open multiple instances of Jet Data Manager on the same machine to work on multiple projects simultaneously. All instances use the same settings file, however, if you change the repository in one instance, this will take effect for all open instances. This can have unpredictable consequences, so Jet Data Manager will now show a warning if it detects that the repository has been changed outside that instance.
When you enable the project setting “Use Integration Services (SSIS)”, SSIS folders will now be enabled be default. They will also be enabled as a default on any new environments you create. SSIS folders are very useful since they prevent SSIS packages with identical names from overwriting each other.

Previous versions had a setting for enabling Active Directory (“AD”) integration. When AD integration is enabled it is possible to browse servers on the local AD by clicking the “…” button next to the server name. When creating the new Options window, we found the setting to be superfluous, so in the new release, we have enabled AD integration and removed the setting. Our hope is that more users will find and use the feature this way.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments